First Name: Gilbert (Gil)
Last Name: Raynor
Crew?: Both
Which Years on Board: 1968-70
Special Crew?: Neither
Rate: MM2 SS

Basic Enlisted Submarine School (BESS)

Post by ELT627 »

When did you go thru BESS, did you go thru? If so, you may find your picture posted at http://www.bessphotos.com/

There are over 500 photos there, maybe you can supply a missing class section photo. Gary Walker has been working on this labor of love for several years now. So go check it out.

I was class 387, section 474, October 1967. Went straight there from Nuc Prototype in Windsor, CT. I think I was one of the last classes of Nucs to go thru subschool. I was aready 2nd class when I arrived at subschool.
Gil
68-70 blue before yard, gold after
RussBrentnell
First Name: Russ
Last Name: Brentnell
Crew?: Combined and Gold
Which Years on Board: 1980-84
Rate: mm1 (nuke)

Post by RussBrentnell »

Never went. That practice for Nukes was abolished long before I graduated Nuke school. Everyone I've talked to who went really enjoyed it. Perhaps the years have made it a "rosey" experience?
Combined in the Yard/Gold crew, 80-84 M-Div

Ship's New Storekeeper 2017-
ELT627
First Name: Gilbert (Gil)
Last Name: Raynor
Which Years on Board: 1968-70
Rate: MM2 SS

BESS

Post by ELT627 »

You are just one of the yourg wippersnappers on this group. Anyone have a total on how many people cycled thru the Madison in her life history?
ELT627
MattBaseflug
First Name: Matt
Last Name: Baseflug
Crew?: Blue
Which Years on Board: 1983-88
Rate: ET-1

BESS

Post by MattBaseflug »

Now that was a really interesting website, thanks. Ill be looking up my old BESS information and submitting it there. My pic wasn't there :cry:
Nav ET Div, Blue, 83-87
Essel
First Name: John Glenn
Last Name: Essel
Which Years on Board: 1981-1986
Rate: FTB1

Post by Essel »

Thanks so much. I found my photo. Class 8045 from 1980. I recognize all the faces, but alas, only a few of the names.
WETSU
rmbowen
First Name: Roy
Last Name: Bowen